Georgia DUI Survival Guide
Coweta County DUI Attorney: Criminal Defense Attorney serving Newnan, GA
Call today for a free case evaluation.
2nd DUI Offense in Georgia Within Ten Years
|Fine||$600-1,000||Plus any statutory surcharges|
|Sentence/Jail Time||90 days to 1 year||Judges may suspend all but 72 hours of actual incarceration|
|Minimum Jail time||72 hours|
|Community service||Minimum 30 days||This is usually interpreted as 240 hours|
|License suspension||Five year lookback|
|Alcohol and drug evaluation||Required|
|Counseling program||17 weeks|
License Suspension for Second Time DUI Cases
- When the DUI laws were amended by the General Assembly in 2008, they did not change the license suspension periods. Oversight or not, the lookback period for license suspension is still 5 years.
- If you plead guilty to a second DUI offense in Georgia within five years, your license will be (at least theoretically) suspended for a period of three years. Prior to January 1, 2013 you could obtain an ignition interlock permit after twelve months if you had completed DUI school and a clinical evaluation. Effective January 1, 2013, a judge may exercise his/her discretion to issue a certificate permitting a "second in five" offender to obtain a very limited ignition interlock permit after 120 days if the person is enrolled in DUI court or a treatment program. After eight months, the driver may obtain the "regular" ignition interlock permit.
- It should be possible for you to reinstate your "regular" class C license after eighteen months, provided you have not only completed DUI school but an alcohol and drug evaluation followed by any recommended treatment.