Georgia DUI Survival Guide
Third DUI Offense in GA Within Ten Years
When you are convicted of a third DUI in Georgia within 10 years, you are considered a “Habitual Violator.”
|Fine||$1,000-5,000||Plus any statutory surcharges|
|Sentence/Jail Time||120 days to 1 year||The court may suspend all but fifteen days of actual incarceration.|
|Minimum Jail time||15 days|
|Community service||Minimum 30 days||This is usually interpreted as 240 hours|
|License suspension||Five year Lookback||See below about license revocation for a 3rd DUI within 5 years.|
|Alcohol and drug evaluation||Required|
|Counseling program||Any indicated treatment|
License Revocation for a Third DUI within Five Years
For a third DUI offense within five years, the law mandates that your license be revoked for five years. You may be able to get a probationary license (with an ignition interlock requirement) after two years.
More Penalties for a Third DUI in Five Years
- Your picture will be placed in the local newspaper (at your expense). This may only be necessary for a third offense DUI within 5 years, but many judges are invoking the ten-year lookback law on this issue.
- You must surrender the license plate for any motor vehicles you own. (As with a second offense DUI, if another driver in the household is dependent on the motor vehicle, you may apply to the Department of Driver Services for a special license plate.)